Sunday, January 29, 2012

#60 Michael Shank Racing Ford with A.J. Allmendinger, Ozz Negri, John Pew and Justin Wilson wins the 50th Rolex 24 at Daytona.

(Photo Credit: Daytona International Speedway Facebook Page)

What battle for the lead it was during the final 2.5 hours between the #60 Michael Shack Racing Ford driven at the time by A.J. Allmendinger and the #8 Starworks Motorsport Ford driven at the time by Allen McNish that was then turned over to Ryan Dalziel for the final two hours for the race. These two beat and bang on each other, swapping the lead between the two of them several times. But in the end, it was the #60 Michael Shack Racing driven by A.J. Allmendinger with co-drivers Ozz Negri, John Pew and Justin Wilson that captured the overall victory in the 50th (2012) Rolex 24 at Daytona. Hell of a job to Michael Shack Racing and the drivers. And also, great job to second place #8 Starworks Motorsport Ford with co-drivers Dalziel / Luhr / McNish / Popow / Potolicchio.

In GT, it was Andy Lally, John Potter, Richard Lietz and Rene Rast in the No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche over the #67 TRG. 

What an interesting race, but just one question, a family member asked me why do they run the Rolex 24 at Daytona with really nobody in the grandstands? Personally I really didn't have an answer for him other than made for television. These 24 hour races don't normally have people in the grandstands, but instead fans attend these races using their campers/RV's. Of course the Rolex 24 at Daytona doesn't draw as many fans as the 12 hours of sebring and especially the 24 hours of LeMans.