Wednesday, October 13, 2010

NASCAR: Pearson, Allison, Petty, Jarrett, and Moore are the 2011 class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Today at the NASCAR Hall of Fame, NASCAR (with Brian France announcing) announced the 2011 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductees. I believe that each year is going to get harder as we go along, but that’s the way it should be.

But even more after all of the debate, including who should be in and why vs. who shouldn’t be and why, we finally have the second class of the Hall of Fame. So without further delay, here we go.

1. David Pearson. The Silver Fox was one of the best drivers just about every time he came to the racetrack. Pearson is a three-time NASCAR champion (Those were his only three full seasons), has 105 wins that’s spans from 1960 to the 1980 Darlington 500 and is most famous for his 1976 Daytona 500 when he was battling Richard Petty on the final lap as they slammed into each other which ended with Petty and Pearson both wrecked in the grass, but Pearson was able to limp across the finish line for the victory.

2. Bobby Allison. 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races.

3. Lee Petty. Winner of the first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion.

4. Ned Jarrett. Two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion and TV Broadcaster.

5. Bud Moore. 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner.

Wow, I have to admit, I’m shocked in a lot of ways with this list. I really only picked 2 out of 5, but one I should have looked at even further. Of course they are all deserving to be in the Hall of Fame.

But I will say that David Pearson was a no brainer and he should have been in last year. Lee Petty is the same way. Petty won the first Daytona 500 and was one person that made a living out of racing in NASCAR. He formed Petty Enterprises.

One the other hand, I felt that Bobby Allison as well as Ned Jarrett were both surprises. However Bud Moore was a welcome treat. So many drivers have driven for Bud Moore including Darrell Waltrip.
As for 2012, I would have to say that Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, and Dale Inman are all favorites for next year, but I do hope that some would consider the Nine-time NASCAR Modified champion including eight consecutively from 1978-85, Richie Evans as a contender next year. The NASCAR Hall of Fame isn’t just for the Cup Series, its for all of NASCAR.

But like this year told us, nobody is a lock.

Related Article:
- Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Junior Johnson, Bill France Sr. and Jr. are the Inaugural class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame.