Tuesday, April 6, 2010

Which 12 drivers will qualify for NASCAR’s chase for the Sprint Cup?

Credit: Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR

In January before the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season began, I sat down and wrote three articles detailing predictions for the upcoming 2010 NASCAR season. In those three articles I predicted that Mark Martin will win the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship, who's going to be 2010's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series breakout star, the Top 6 biggest NASCAR storylines to watch in 2010 and of course who will make the 2010 Chase for the Sprint Cup?

However as I sit here six races into the 2010 NASCAR season, I have to say that while I stand behind Mark Martin winning the championship, the top 6 biggest stories that included Danica Patrick and the resurgence of RCR, I would like to update who I think which 12 drivers will qualify for the NASCAR’s chase for the sprint cup.

I believe simply that there are 15-18 drivers that have a shot at making the chase in 2010. Of course only 12 drivers will get in, but that’s really up to the teams and the drivers performance. NASCAR is a performance and results driven sport and business.

So here we go and in no particular order:

1. Jimmie Johnson
2. Greg Biffle
3. Mark Martin
4. Kevin Harvick
5. Jeff Burton
6. Kurt Busch
7. Jeff Gordon
8. Tony Stewart
9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
10. Joey Logano
11. Kyle Busch
12. Clint Bowyer

Now I have to say that I’m not sure about Matt Kenseth, Paul Menard, Brian Vickers, Denny Hamlin, and Juan Montoya. Matt Kenseth doesn’t have the consistency that is needed right now, Paul Menard just there right now and so is Brian Vickers, but I don’t see them staying past 12 races in. I don’t know what’s up with Juan Montoya, but its early. And Denny Hamlin…the ACL leg injury and surgery took him out of this one.

As for Dale Earnhardt Jr., that strictly a wild card from this JR Nation fan.

So what’s your list?