Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Junior Johnson, Bill France Sr. and Jr. are the Inaugural class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

All day today, SPEED has been analyzing just who should the first five members of the inaugural class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Like I said this past June when NASCAR unveiled the 25 nominees, when it comes to picking these five names, they have to be the best of the best and while most people will find that two names should be a lock, of course they would be 7-time champion Dale Earnhardt and 7-time champion Richard Petty, both would be perfect for the inaugural class just by their records in NASCAR, but the last three, those will be discussed at length. I believe it will be even more difficult to pick the second and third class into the Hall of Fame.

Last June I choice my top 5 list of who should be in that inaugural class, first is Bill France Sr., he was the Co-founder and manager of NASCAR. Second is Dale Earnhardt Sr. One of the best drivers in NASCAR, 7-time Cup Series champion. Third is Richard Petty. Nobody should be saying that Richard doesn’t deserve to be in the first class period. He is the best racecar driver in NASCAR and he is a 7-time Champion and won 200 races. The fourth and fifth were a little harder to choice, but I went with the Silver Fox David Pearson and a driver, car owner, builder and more Junior Johnson.

So with that said, earlier today after the voting happened, NASCAR announced the inaugural class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame and they are:

1. Bill France Sr.
2. Richard Petty
3. Bill France Jr.
4. Dale Earnhardt (Sr.)
5. Junior Johnson

Interesting to note that the one vote was casted on behalf of the fans, of more than 670,000 fan votes submitted online, the fans choice: Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Bill France Sr., Cale Yarborough & Bobby Allison. Its good to see that the fans choose three out of five that made it into the first class of the NASCAR Hall of fame.

What an incredible and surprising list. Both lists were going to be surprising just by the way people in the media and who could cast a vote where talking about who should be in and who be not. I am very happy with this inaugural list, perfect picks. I have to say that the second class is going to be difficult to pick, but I’m think Darrell Waltrip and David Pearson. The NASCAR Hall of Fame is set to open next May (Sunday May 23, 2010). What does everybody think?